Medium Short: Farm-to-Desk

Because fleece and wisdom are key to the tasks at hand

B. Lorraine Smith
4 min readNov 4, 2022
Shetland ewes run in anticipation of the grain they’re about to be offered. (Photo by me)

Welcome to the latest weekly Medium Short, an accountability practice to keep me semi-tethered along the unmarked trail of industrial healing. I make all of my articles (including those mentioned below) available for free with this unglamorous searchable table of contents.

I cannot disguise my delight at having spent a long weekend at my friend Karen’s sheep farm in Southern Ontario, along with a couple other dear friends. Karen breeds Shetland sheep, providing wonderful fleece to handspinners like me. She is also slowly but surely planting a food forest of nut trees and fruit trees that handily act as a wind break for her driveway in the winter. Also, she’s just awesome.

There are a thousand things I could say about the little capsule of community we crawled into for four days. I’ll sum up by saying that time spent playing with those women on that farm with those sheep and trees was a tonic for this soul.

Meanwhile back at the office…

I got back to a pretty full plate. I am in the throes of delivering my services which feels really exciting, finally having officially rolled them out!

To review in a nutshell: I write, speak, and guide. So on that note here’s an…

--

--

B. Lorraine Smith

Former sustainability consultant replacing ESG with reality-based insights about corporate purpose and impact. https://www.blorrainesmith.com/